Long Overdue Update! Day 334 on Isagenix


Poached the photo above from the IsaBody Challenge Facebook page!

It’s December and it’s been busy. There is much to report!

It’s hard to articulate how surreal the last little while has been!

For the past 2 months, I’ve switched up my exercise and have been doing Insanity workouts by Shawn T. Wowza! Talk about sculpting your body!

insanity banner

I’ll be taking a break from the “insanity” over the next month (for the sake of my knees) and I’ll be returning to some kettlebell and Jillian Michaels, then for the start of my 4th Isabody Challenge  near the end of January – and since I’m a glutton for punishment it seems – I’ll be returning to the world of Shawn T for some Insanity: Max 30. The results are addictive!

I’ve also been walking 40 minutes to work everyday, walking my dog in the evenings and running 3x/week – I’ve not missed a run clinic since class ended in October! I currently log between 12-15kms/week. All outside too! No treadmill running if I can help it!

I’ve registered for two races to kick off the 2016 run season!

Race Roster Spring Run-Off (5k) *formerly Harry’s Spring Run-Off* scheduled in April!

And the Sporting Life 10k (Toronto) scheduled in May!

All this walking and running has earned me a couple of new lifetime distance badges from Fitbit:

But the most important badge I’ve earned recently is this one:

I’m pleased to announce that I’ve reached a milestone and lost 100lbs!

Actually 101lbs to be exact! And 103″ (20″ off my waist alone) as of December 15, 2015!

When I began this journey on January 19, 2015, I had a secret goal of losing 100lbs by December 18, 2015 and I’ve reached that and more!

I received an Honorable Mention for NYKO (New Year’s Kick Off) 2016 in  Dallas, Texas which is a top 10 finish after the selected finalists! This comes with some awesome prizes too! All this in my 2nd Isabody Challenge! And all this just for pushing myself on my journey!

Honorable-121715-YovankaM (1)

*This photo shows my progress from February 2015 to November 2015*

I am also officially now a member of  the Isagenix 100lb Club!

**Products**

Some Isagenix products (other than the 30-day Cleansing and Fat Burning System) that have helped me achieve my goals:

Amped Power (this is like workout go-go juice!) I burn almost 100 extra calories when I take this before working out!

us-en-amped-power-product-page.jpg

My new favourite flavour of Replenish! Grape!

us-en-replenish-all-flavors-800px

And my Insanity-laden knees’ new bestie:

Ageless Pain Relief Cream (this is included in the Performance System)

0040495_isagenix-ageless-pain-relief-cream

Now for the recipe portion of the blog:

**Foodstuffs**

As with any weight loss success, it is 80% nutrition and 20% exercise and if there’s anything I can stress, it’s the importance of eating clean home cooked meals when not enjoying your IsaLean or IsaLean Pro Shakes. So here are some fairly easy to make healthy and clean recipes from some of my favourite blogs and websites! Good ideas for that knife and fork meal.

I’ve posted this one before, but it’s a great (and quick) go-to meal from the MyFitnessPal Blog:

Baked Hummus-Crusted Chicken with Organic Cookin’ Greens sautéed in Coconut Oil.

This is a new one that I made at my sister’s place:

Vegetarian Spaghetti Squash Lasagna Casserole

  

Pre-Oven (before baking – all built and ready to go!)
Post-oven (after baking)

  Another from the “Hello Healthy” MyFitnessPal Blog:

Skinny Chicken Parmesan (made with Shasha Bread Company’s Organic Spelt Bread Crumbs)

  And combined, they make the perfect plate with a side of fresh avocado!

And finally my offering for the recent holiday office potluck, I found this delicious vegetarian dish on the NY Times Cooking Blog: Roasted Cauliflower Gratin with Tomatoes and Goat Cheese

 

One thing that’s important to take away from this whirlwind blog post is that transformation is for anyone. Not just former athlete’s, but ANYONE – and this video says it best:

Happy Holidays! Here’s to crushing it in 2016!!

Leave a Reply

